overloading

I have recently enoyed some email correspondence with VOSA about overloading.

I asked, “How can i protect myself from prosecution for ovrloading when, as an agency driver, i am unfamiliar with the vehicle, commodity or load”

I received couteous (edited) reply,…" …driving an overloaded vehicle is an absolute offence and if found proven result in an automatic guilty verdict. However if you were travelling tothe nearest possible weighbridge prosecution would be unlikely if VOSA were satisfied that weighing was or had been in pprogress. (RTA 1988 s.41(B)(2)(a)). vehicle unfamiliarity may mitigate in sentencing."

I replied asking how I should know that i should abort my journey and go to a weighbridge and if there was a list of available weighbridges

The author of the reply apologised for the lack of info and refered me to local authority Trading Standards who are responsibel for keeping a register of weighbridges in that local authority area. he suggested a reasonable guideline to give a driver is:, “…if they have a reason to think the vehicle is overloaded then they should seek a check weighing. Signs of overloading are bulging tyres, springs straightened out or inverted, very small clearances between axles and bump stops etc.”

I appreciate the need for overloading prevention and am grateful for official enforcement to make our roads safer. My intention was to have some official guidelines so that if I wind up in the dock, I can say that these are the guidelines. I followed them and plead not guilty to the offence without having to depend on “Unlikely” and “mitigation”. Just say if anyone wants copies of the correspondence.

In the end mate your the fall guy you will take the blame its your responsibility .

English law is based upon what a reasonable person thinks. It’s horrendously complex, yet ignorance of the law is not a defence, after all, how can a reasonable person not be aware of a law that is in itself perfectly reasonable !