OPINIONS PLEASE

Evening all

Please let me know your thoughts on the following.

I passed my Class 2 in December and completed my CPC last month. I’m brand new to driving, so apologies if the below is long winded.

I applied for a Class 2 role with what seems a decent company in Kent. The guy phoned me earlier and was honest about what they would expect from me.

First, I would have to start in a Sprinter van, where I would fly anywhere and everywhere, as a multi-drop driver. IF I show that I can handle it, I could progress to 7.5t, and then after six months, I could move up to Class 2.

The money, although not a massive factor for me wanting to become a driver, is low to start with - £7.75ph. It rises to £10.05 for Class 2.

£7.75 is a fair bit lower than my current wage but more hours means I’ll actually earn more, but not by much.

In his honesty, the guy told me that I can expect the job, in the early days, to have a big impact on my life. Trips to Glasgow (he said that it’s there and back in a day) are common, along with other trips up North.

I appreciate that I have to walk before I can run. Why should he trust me with a Class 2 when I have zero experience?

My issue is that it will take me six months of hard work for a very low wage. That’s before I even get to Class 2. I don’t mind the hard work but I need to earn a living, preferably with the licence that I worked to achieve.

He said to take the weekend to think about it and let him know on Monday if I’m still interested.

My second point:

I get home and I receive an email from an agency, who have invited me to an interview with a company based in Paddock Wood. The money is approx 28k - a fair bit more than I currently earn.

The job advert described the role as “a very manual job”, which delivers food products to places such as schools, bars and restaurants etc.

Is this company Brakes or P & H?