Opinions on a job offer for bulk tipping

Hi all,

Just looking for peoples opinions on a job offer I have that I’ve accepted but not due to start for a couple of weeks while I work my notice. Im new in terms of class 1 driving - 6ish months of experience on box trailers doing multi drop which I’ve decided isnt for me.

Went for interview and got offered the job (advised i had no experience on bulk tipping but was told someone would be out with me for a week - then a week shadowing - truck following me or me following it to site.

This is what I was told

Class 1 - bulk tippers
mon-fri tramping
£700 per week after tax take home increasing to £750 per week take home after 3 months.
No hours advised but was told would be maxing out on a monday and back in the yard by dinner time friday. The take home pay includes night out money at £28 a night out which is tax free. So I’m not sure how yo work out a rough hourly rate!

Does this seem like a decent crust to earn? Is bulk tipping a decent job? I always seem to see tippers racing around on the road at breakneck speed with not much regard to anyone (not tarring all drivers with the same brush but predominently seems to be the tippers that do this?

Thanks in advance!

Night out money is not part of wages, so -£100 means wages are £600. 50 hr week is £12 per hr. 60 hr week is £10 per hr. Your choice :slight_smile:

I tend to ignore the hourly rate when tramping.
You’re out in the truck all week.
Does what you’ll take home for the week feel enough for being out all week?
If it does, happy days.
£750 in ya pocket for being out Mon to Fri seems ok to me.

Awful salary job, they will max you out, on ■■■■ money.

SWEDISH BLUE:
Night out money is not part of wages, so -£100 means wages are £600. 50 hr week is £12 per hr. 60 hr week is £10 per hr. Your choice :slight_smile:

But the OP says it is take home rate, you haven`t taken tax and NI into account. :smiley:

£750 minus (4x28) is about £640 a week wages. About £33,000 pa