Operating tacho system

Sorry if these been posted before or same thing on the same lines. But how easy is it to operate the tachogrpah system. I am a new driver and I start my new job after Xmas but I’m already panicking about the tacho. I don’t want to be getting pulled and getting fined or losing my license. I know I should be getting training when I start but any information from the forum what there’s experiences are like with them and did they feel the same when 1st starting out

List of Do’s:

Have a look at the online simulators.
Be familiar with the different symbols on a tacho and what they mean.
Be familiar with EU rules and the WTD.
Have a good fiddle with the Tacho before you put your card in so you know what does what.
Know when you should be putting a manual entry in.
Know which way round you should orientate your card.

List of Don’ts:

Be so paralysed with fear you are to scared to touch the bloody thing.
Be afraid to ask a question of your fellow drivers at the company.

Its difficult to be more useful than that without knowing what make and version the tachograph you will be using…

They’re a ******* nightmare mate. I’m having therapy for the ******** things !

Press No and Go it’s what I do and nobody has ever pulled me up about it,I’m such a rebel me :wink:

VOSTAPO might but not been stopped by them for about 20 years.

Thanks for the advice. I’ll be defo making sure I’m fully clued up on it. Think it’s the fear of getting pulled over by vosa and heavy fines and losing my license

Mellor:
Thanks for the advice. I’ll be defo making sure I’m fully clued up on it. Think it’s the fear of getting pulled over by vosa and heavy fines and losing my license

Look mate, the DVSA, are not sitting there at the roadside, rubbing their hands together at the thought of dry arse ■■■■■■■ the next poor noooob that comes along without a clue. They are there to make transport in our country safer and fairer for everyone.