One year in

So, I’m 1 year into my new career. I’ll keep the story short and to the point.

Passed my C last September and jumped straight into C+E two weeks later (Both 1st time passes).

Started on class 2 multidrop via agency and then within 1 month jumped to Class 1 (Tesco store deliveries via same agency for a few weeks). My big break came in Dec 17 when the agency sent me to my current employer. After about 12 weeks or so regular class 1 work, the company asked me if I wanted to go full time.
I took them up on the offer and been there ever since. They knew I was a new driver and don’t normally take new drivers but they gave me a crack and I grabbed it.

It hasn’t all been a bed of roses (steep learning curve) but I can honestly say that so far I’m loving it. I should have quit IT years ago. I’m on a 45 hr per week contract but I average about 50-55 (I’m cool with this as it’s 30 hrs a week less than I was doing in IT!).

My work / home life hasn’t been this good in a long time and I’m making a decent living.
The other drivers I’m working with have all been spot on. Every one of them to a man has been fantastic and helped me along the way.

I also have my ADR so another new avenue involving tankers has opened up for me with my employer. It’s a work in progress which I’m chomping at the bit to get on with :slight_smile:

They say you make your own luck, ■■■■ knows how I did it but thus far, I’ve made plenty!

For those sitting on the fence, ■■■■ it, get off it and get cracking. There’s a decent living to be had out of it.

Is the old saying true? Reversing comes with time. I’m 1month in and im still ■■■■

TruckDriverBen:
Is the old saying true? Reversing comes with time. I’m 1month in and im still [zb]

Even more of a laugh when 1 year in and you have to drive a rigid for 3 days :blush: the dam thing keeps going the wrong way :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

TruckDriverBen:
Is the old saying true? Reversing comes with time. I’m 1month in and im still [zb]