one of those days.

I have been driving artics for almost 50 years ,Yesterday I had to deliver a volvo with a tipper trailer to essex.
I pulled on to Northampton services for a break and started to reverse into a free gap.after about 15 shunts and catching the bumper of a parked truck I managed to get it in.
I was expecting the other drivers who where sat in their cabs to start clapping when I eventually got it in
I used to boast that I could reverse an artic where you couldn’t get water but you would not have thought so after yesterday’s performance…
Do’es anyone else have days when they wished they had stayed in bed?

Everyone has those days mate, you can reverse the same lorry into the same spot everyday and sometimes you will muck it up :wink:

Every Monday for me.

everyone has an off day. an easy reverse takes several shunts and you are wondering what the hell you are playing at (as is everyone else within sight). get the day over and done with and tomorrow will be back to normal :wink:

I find having an audience is when it goes wrong, best shunts are when you are on your own and no one sees just how good you are.

When it goes in perfect there is never anyone around but when you ■■■■ it up there is always a crowd, I had to reverse off the ferry once and even after 20 years plus of driving artics I cocked it right up, they were glad to get rid of me that day :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Yep, I’ve been driving for almost as long as you and I still get days like that.

I deliver to Yearsley’s depot in Wisbech quite regularly, and they have a strange dock system where you have to reverse onto some small ramps to raise the back of the trailer, and the dock gets lowered into the back. They don’t make life easy by having their own trailers parked in the spaces between the docks and added to that there’s a wire fence a bit too close for reversing comfort, and often other trucks waiting to tip that are parked against that fence.