o licence question

dont normally venture on this bit of the forum but as most of you lot run wagons figured here would be the best place to ask after ringing vosa for advice and being told by the bird,on the phone that it would be easier to ask one of the roadside inspection lads as she didnt know the answers :open_mouth:

as you know as well as a driver I’m a qualified HIAB instructor, and have been offered a wagon with a rear mounted hiab on, for carrying out on site training at a decent price but heres where im stuck

1. as a not for carrying goods vehicle but purely for on site training would it be able to be taxed at private HGV rate?
  2. would i need a restricted O licence even though it wouldnt be carrying goods
  3. or would it be exempt as it could be i guess classed as a training vehicle if I had part of the load bed fitted with a shortened box body converted into a mobile classroom for the theory part of the course ?

Andydisco:

1. as a not for carrying goods vehicle but purely for on site training would it be able to be taxed at private HGV rate?

As you’d be using it for business purposes I doubt it.

Without checking I would say full road tax and restricted op licence.
dft.gov.uk/vosa/forms/lorryo … gforms.htm.

But have a look at GV79 on above link.

I have had the I don’t know when making telephone request for info, said i would wait while she went to find out. :smiley:

GV74 mentions an operators licence because it is over 3.5t. A restricted licence would be fine because you are not carrying any goods fore hire or reward, and there is no exemption for a training vehicle or mobile classroom in Appendix 2.

docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&q=ca … 0YeoV1wPAA

If you used a small container or a cabin for a classroom you could demonstrate lifting it on and off the lorry without spilling the lads tea :wink:

cheers for the answers chaps knew you lot would know more than vosa :grimacing: :grimacing: