O licence application

Help please!
Here’s my question ,I have recently passed the new haulage cpc for national and inter
National haulage ,I want to go out on my own now :confused: Wise move ?dont know but have to try.have the funds for five trucks but will be starting with one,have operating centre,have promise of work but heard that its not great but hey what is at the minute.
In the process of applying for my operators licence and with the new system I need to have access to a vehicle but because I don’t know if the work I get will be sufficient,was hoping I could apply for the licence and get it to a stage where I can go and look for good work but without the commitment of trucks doing nothing,is this possible or do I have to buy a truck to get my licence and then maybe not get the work I was promised and then left with trucks and no work ,can anyone shed some light on this issue of access to vehicles ,as I’m only starting out want to be sure of work and go looking for work with an o licence in my hand thus showing full compliance ,thanks.

Same circumstances as me, just write them a covering letter saying that you do not intend to commit to buying your first vehicle until and unless an Operator’s Licence is granted, they’re fine with that.

same as Harry said
freind of mine just done same they know your not going to get finance or whatever for a truck
and park it on drive paying £1000 month for upto 6 months waiting on licence

If you speak to them in Leeds they are helpful most of time

gettin-on:
If you speak to them in Leeds they are helpful most of time

Agree with that, after I submitted my application I received a letter from my case worker in Leeds, with his direct phone number and have spoken to him a few times, he’s been very helpful.

It’s also worth registering with the operator self-service facility on VOSA’s website to check the progress of the application online.

Thanks for the replies