Now a trailer question

I’m new to artics. Iv’e just started a job on containers. The first trailer I had when it was empty was really difficult to slow down smoothley. The brakes would be really grabby and sharp. much like if the brake pedal was just an on/off switch also it would make a clunking noise and jerk the tractor unit.

A week or so after I started I swapped trailers and the new trailer was fine. Now I have swapped trailers again and the problem is back although not quite as bad the symptoms are the same.

how do I fix it, whats wrong with it?

joedwyer1:

Is this the same trailer you had in the first week ?

Presumably the ABS warning lights are not staying on and are working ?

This is the load sensing valve that’s playing up. Basically the heavier the load on the trailer the sharper the brakes become so you only have to press the brake pedal as much as you would if you were empty. 9 times out of 10 the brakes between the unit and the trailer are fine but sometimes you are going to get a real grabby trailer. Did you notice it was much better with a heavy load on it?

It sounds as though there may be a problem with the load sencing valve.

Just like the valve is called it detects what weight is on the vehicle,cars ,vans ,trucks buses ,all have them.It sounds like it may be sticking and is detecting what it thinks is a full load and providing the brake effort required to slow the truck/trailer combination,hence the grabbing brakes.

The trailer needs to be checked by a fitter as its not really safe to travel with this defect asap.There is a risk when travelling empty with a truck/trailer (especially when the road is damp) of the trailer brakes locking up causing the trailer to run wide.

yeah it sounds like this is the problem because the heavier the load then the problem goes away. its not the same trailer as the first one I had but it is one of the older looking ones. all the gear is ■■■■ where I work :laughing:

is the abs light on in your truck?