Noob questions

Cutting my teeth on some international stuff over the next few weeks. Ireland first, then Netherlands, then Germany.

Just been doing some research, and a couple of questions come up:

1. Speed limits in Germany - is it seriously the case that it is 60 kph anywhere that isn’t 50 and isn’t a motorway or am I getting dud advice? Do people do it, and is it enforced? (most of Europe seems to be 80…)

2. Hull ferry to Europort - my ‘friends’ are making a big deal of having to reverse on and trying to spook me out! I’m quite new to class 1 and now just a bit concerned - how bad is it really?! Any tips? Ok - yes - try not to hit anything, but seriously if there is anything worth knowing I’m all ears!

cheers
Tim

Hi Tim,welcome to Tnuk.We are to help, so keep asking questions no matter how trivial you think it is.
Germany;Note the speed limit signs for non motorway signs in towns and villages.They may do random speed checks with radar.
Motorway is 56 mph.
Hull ferry;if you have to reverse on,the crew may have whistles and guide you in with hand signals.
For Benelux ,which is short for Be:Belgium ,Ne;Netherlands and Lux;Luxembourg ,you need to buy a vignete ticket.
For Germany it is a toll system with a machine in many languages.A driver will show you how to use it.
You can get a refund on the toll ticket.
If you have no tacho records for the last 28 days,an attestation activity letter is needed to cover absence/holidays or sickness.
Truck documents must be originals and no photocopies.
Flip flops for showers to prevent Athletes foot.
For each illegal immigrant found in your trailer,the fine is £2000.Download a journey check list from the UKBA website.