Noob hoping to make an ambition a reality - C&C+E now passed

Quick brief so I won’t bore you.

I am 26 have always wanted to be a Lorry Driver since I was a kid, I simply love driving and have been driving ELWB sprinters since I was 18. I have a young family, bills and day-to-day life to pay for so that meant that saving was a slow process but finally I got enough put aside to do my C and C+E, CPC and bits and bobs with contingency money for failing. I work in construction and planned to enter this industry when I was 25 to make myself more attractive to employers due to insurance obligations. Keeping out the cold from 8am-5pm in winter will be a bonus!

Checked out reputable firms via here and gone with a branch in Walsall called Westgate. Theory + Hazard perception being studied and test in 2 and half weeks then my training and test the week after hopefully (on the basis I pass theory side of course). I have never wanted anything more in terms of employment.

Put the word out to a few places for potential jobs and also have put my notice in at work and plan to sit in with some drivers for work practise.

Will update the thread as my progress goes on, any advice welcome and hopefully this helps others. Wish me luck :slight_smile:

Good Luck mate,

I’m on the same path, just a few weeks ahead of you.

Enjoy.

Gareth

gar374:
Good Luck mate,

I’m on the same path, just a few weeks ahead of you.

Enjoy.

Gareth

Thanks and same to you :wink:

CMH:
Put the word out to a few places for potential jobs and also have put my notice in at work

My advice would have been to keep current job until you have a contract for a new one - not just promises from employers and especially agencies … unless you have funds to keep your bills paid for some time …

ROG:

CMH:
Put the word out to a few places for potential jobs and also have put my notice in at work