Nightshift - Office texting during the day

Hi guys. Tried searching for some info on this to no avail.

I do nights 1900-0500 usually. Past 2 days I’ve been awoken at 11/12 by work texting me about missing paperwork (not my fault, it was processed by me properly).

As I’m quite new to nights I wondered what is the usual rules when contacting drivers on nights during the day?? Am I right to complain about this??

Any help is much appreciated!

Do what I do, turn my phone off

Sent from my IN2023 using Tapatalk

No, they shouldn’t be doing it. No reason why such admin matters can’t wait until the next time you’re in.

Having said that, they have no way of knowing your particular daily routine, so they sent a text rather than phoning you, giving you the choice of when to deal with it.

Being pragmatic, I’d suggest exploring the “Do Not Disturb” options on your phone.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

(1)Switch your phone off or put it on silent mode. (2) IF you replied to the text its YOU thats encouraged them to text you on your rest time.
Like most T.O`s give an inch and they take a yard if they can

I think texts, emails and WhatsApp messages can be sent to anyone at all times of the day or night. It is up to the recipient to manage their Do Not Disturb routine.
Next, you’ll be saying we can only reply on here at certain times in case someone gets a reply notification while they are asleep :laughing:

1. Put phone on silent (no sound, no vibration, nothing. face down if near the bed to keep light away if someone is calling)

2. Respond to calls/texts after wake up, breakfast, coffee, etc. Or ignore if they asking me to do OT :unamused:

I would have thought that work contact is interrupting a rest period…If you were to have a serious accident I think plod when they ogle your phone and take that into consideration

DaveyW:
Hi guys. Tried searching for some info on this to no avail.