Night working hours

Can someone please explain law regards night working.
I know between 10 and 4 your classed as a night worker can only do 10 hours shifts.

But I’m a day driver. If for instance I was to start at 2 am I a night worker. Or a day one. How many hours could I do?
Is it 10 because I started im.the Night hours. Or is.it as normal 13 / 15 hours.

Why would you think starting at 2 would be day work?

Edd1974

-Did you Opt Out of “Night Hours Agreement”?

If yes you can work max out your shifts.
If not 10 hrs it is as far as I know.

Silly o’clock starts and long shifts definetly ■■■■.

mac12:
Why would you think starting at 2 would be day work?

Because some hauliers tell their day drivers to start at silly o’clock and call it day shift.

Most day drivers who work from lets say 2am-6am don’t even get night rate for that time. [emoji33][emoji45][emoji45]
Lots of companies do only pay an “early start bonus” what is not fair in my opinion.

Tipperdipper1:
Edd1974

-Did you Opt Out of “Night Hours Agreement”?

If yes you can work max out your shifts.
If not 10 hrs it is as far as I know.

Silly o’clock starts and long shifts definetly ■■■■.

He won’t have opted out someone will have years ago who maybe don’t even work there now

So of started at 2 I could only do 10 hrs finish at noon?
Only asking as where I am lately we have lot of delivers that need be on site 8am on a Monday. We are given a choice start 2 3 am Monday or go Sunday.i tend go on a Sunday. As not keen starting at 2 am doing 13 15 hours. If I only could do 10 by law then I’m Gona start going Mondays. Although need read contract fully I guess

Hi Edd

Night hours are any shifts that go between the hours of midnight (not 10pm) and 4am (1am and 5am for PSV)

However, as mentioned, you need to check the ‘opt out’ situation and whether they believe you have signed. Someone can’t sign for you but it might have in the middle of the wedge of paper you signed when you started work there.

edd1974: