Night shift opinions?

Evening all. I am currently a tipper driver and to be frank, I cannot stand it. Getting stuck, up to me diffs in crap, dealing with brain dead idiots its prob worse job I’ve ever had!!!

Anyways i have been thinking of changing jobs and attempting to get away from tippers and get on nights somewhere else like trunking etc. Now i have done night shifts on the odd occasion in other jobs but only 2 shifts driving.

So am just after some input / comments / opinions if people don’t mind? For example is it much quieter? Wages? What do people do sleep wise? Especially sleep at weekends? What sort of work i might find? etc etc.

Hope im not being a pain.

many thanks in advance really appreciate any thoughts.

Bazza.
:slight_smile:

Dont know anything about calss 2 night trunking.
class1 yes,and also white van,but,…

Lovlyperson:
Dont know anything about calss 2 night trunking.
class1 yes,and also white van,but,…

oh ok perhaps not trunking then.

I can tell you what it’s like on a night I’ve done it for 10 years.

It’s a lot quieter as you would imagine. The main type of work is class 1 trunking work normally from A to B and back again. I do see a few class 2 trucks about and a lot of 7.5 tonne ones, mainly Royal Mail.

Sleep wise I never had a problem sleeping during the day. Where I live is very quiet. When I finish my last shift I go home and don’t go to bed until the night, then on my first shift I normally spend half a day in bed, getting up just before I start.

Wages tend to be higher on a night but sometimes you can’t get the hours in especially if you get stuck on a shorter run.

our local fed ex runs a rigid on night trunk with whats left over from full load artics. it might be the same in your area. get ringing.

Agree with Rew, sleeping during the day could be the biggest hurdle. Can be difficult during holidays with kids playing out and in the ‘heat’ during the summer. For some people their internal clock cannot cope with it.