Next Step

Ive been driving class 2 for 6 months and am looking at the future. Im going to get my Class 1 done early next year then am considering going down the ADR route or car transporters.

Any one got any advice?

Best advice is to get your Class 1 and then see what doors open for you.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Class 1 first get a few years experience

ADR = you need the balls to say NO IMO I don’t think a newbie would have the experience for that.

Car transporters is a lot of a job, loads of waiting time when collecting (hours), fines for hitting branches etc, quite dirty when it’s raining, you need to be very disciplined I believe only 1% of drivers that apply for transporters stick at it. Its like nothing else.

If your a good driver, professional, courteous, safe & not a moaner then there will always be a job for you try a few different things see what you like.

Anything with chains seems to get the same pay rate as ADR because it’s a dying knowledge and it’s dirty.

Do 2 years on coil, slitted coil and oil&pickle don’t have an accident and you’ll never be out of work.
Fertiliser guys seem to stick at that job, you can always tell a fert guy some kind of deformity (only messing, they’ll know what I mean)

I enjoyed general haulage but on here the newbies don’t seem to like it as its too much like hard work.
My 1st job 20 tonne of feed to a farm, blower had broken, company said come back we will fix it, 3 hour drive so in my wisdom I chose to shovel it into the farms hopper, got back to the yard for 6pm boss bought me a beer, looking back I guess he’d found a grafter.