next step

Hi forum.

A couple of questions if I may?

1. I have no experience driving HGV. I would like to get into class 1 driving (so I can maximise my income). I know I dont need to pass my class 2 test before taking my class 1, but I am aware some employers frown on it. Is this true? Do people think I should take my class 2 test first?

2. I have now passed my medical, multiple choice test and hazzard perception. I also have my tacho card in the post. What do I need to do next in terms of getting a job as a class 1 driver?

1. No. Waste of time if it’s class 1 you want to do
  2. CPC. That’s mod 2 and 4 unless you passed your car test pre '97 so you have C1 entitlement? (Then it’s 35 hrs).
    Pass your driving test [emoji23]

stu675:

2. CPC. That’s mod 2 and 4 unless you passed your car test pre '97 so you have C1 entitlement? (Then it’s 35 hrs).
  1. Ok thanks. So it is untrue that employers prefer new recruits to have class 1 and 2?

2. Yes I have c1 entitlement. What is 35 hours? Can I apply for jobs before I have done the 35 hours (whatever it is)!

Once I have passed class 1 practical test, am I then able to apply for jobs?

noobilad:

stu675:

1. Ok thanks. So it is untrue that employers prefer new recruits to have class 1 and 2?

If you have class 1 you have class 2 as well.

1. Yes I have c1 entitlement. What is 35 hours? Can I apply for jobs before I have done the 35 hours (whatever it is)!

If you have c1 then you were classed as an existing lorry driver in 2009, which means you were treated as being CPC qualified until 2014. Effectively you can do five 7 hour modules to get a CPC card because of when you originally passed your car test.

Once I have passed class 1 practical test, am I then able to apply for jobs?

If you have a CPC card then yes. There isn’t a reason why you wouldn’t be able to be CPC qualified as it would appear you could book modules any time you want.