Newbie owner operator with a couple of questions. (spain/PT)

Hi there, quick introduction, im an owner operator of a class 2 fl6 accident unit based in the midlands. recently my line of work has pushed me to consider the buying of a car transporter for runs to the continent, mainly northern spain and portugal. What i would like to ask is some advice on fuel economy what sort of MPG a full sized car transporter would return fully loaded with 10/11 cars. I have been looking at an FM12 on truck trader to be specific.

My other consideration is calais or santander? I would appreciate some feedback from others familiar with the routes although the answer to my first question will probably seal the deal on these two options. Im considering
Santander from portsmouth comes in at just under £1000 + vat. each way
or Calais is £235 + vat each way
However santander knocks around 800 miles each way off my longest planned journey and i can crack the trip legaly with one driver at the helm with the break in the middle on the ferry. Im leaning towards this way as its less wear and tear on the vehicle, less diesel, breaks the trip up better (ill be doing it my self) and i miss out all the ■■■■ in france with toll roads plus the migrant ■■■■■■■■■■ But of course theres that massive 700 odd quid of a difference in price. Will it offset the saving on diesel/toll roads?

Thoughts and suggestions appreciated.

Regards

Nim

I think your biggest problem will be height restrictions 4.0meteres. your not going to get any where close to that with a 10/11 car transporter.

m.a.n rules:
I think your biggest problem will be height restrictions 4.0meteres. your not going to get any where close to that with a 10/11 car transporter.

you may be right brittany just confirmed the ferry door is only 4.3 metres im having a look at my accident unit now the beacon’s and work lamps are on a hydraulic frame so they raise up fully extended they are 4.2. just looked at it and it may be tight!