Newbie member, couple of questions

Evening all, I’ve just joined as I’ve been driving for a few months now and am trying to get a bit of advice on my next step.

I did my Class 2, CPC and Class 1 earlier in the year and have been doing Class 2 with an agency since March. I enjoy the work, I like the variety of jobs and different companies I get to to drive for through the agency but cannot get any Class 1 work (apparently companies who use agency drivers don’t like taking risks with newly qualified Class 1 guys). Also the pay isn’t that good and I need to earn more to pay my bills.
So where do I go now? I am going to start looking around at what permanent jobs are going in my area and would like to know which companies people thing are better than others to work for, or maybe more importantly who I should avoid.
I’m in Grimsby but will travel within reason to drive for the right company, so does anyone have any useful ideas as to who I should be talking to?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Do class 2 agency work for a firm that runs both classes, once you get known/trusted, ask to do a class 1 drivers shift for them, with them in the passenger seat. Yes you will be working for free, but it takes the pressure off…

Or, stop limping and apply for perm jobs! :smiley:

I agree with Evil, I have recently got a HIAB certificate and now found an agency who gave me a weeks training with a star driver. I think they’re paying me 40 hrs for that week but will probably be asked to sign a contract with them for 6 months. I don’t mind that, I’m setting up my own Ltd company and they’ll train me on other certificates and maybe pay a Class 1 test (I’ve done training already) and give me lots of work. But going Ltd will make the biggest difference.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk

Hi mate, welcome to the forum.

Which agency are you working for in Grimsby?