Newbie insurance questions

Can anybody give me a rough idea of insurance costs for a newbie driver?

I am 41yrs old, only just passed my C+E with no convictions, points or claims. I would be driving my own truck worth very little and doing general haulage work (removals) possibly between the UK and Spain.

I am also confused by the different types of insurance available, what is RHA insurance?

In fact, as a newbie, I know nothing about the insurance side of driving, any tips would be great.

Finally, if I bought my own truck to work self-employed, would I need a vehicle operators licence?

Cheers to anyone who can help…

:bulb: :bulb: You might be better posting your question in the OWNER & FLEET OPERATORS FORUM :bulb: :bulb:

biglaughingjym:
Finally, if I bought my own truck to work self-employed, would I need a vehicle operators licence?

Yes, if you’re going UK to Spain you’ll need an international one.

Deffo need an operators licence and you will either need to have an International CPC yourself - or pay someone to be your transport manager.

To get an operators licence is quite complicated, you should go to the VOSA site where you can download eveything you need to know and an application form.

I’d say the insurance is the least of your worries!

Ditto what the other guys said re the operators license; international if you go abroad and a CPC holder, either yourself or contract it out. You will need to name your CPC holder on your application, that you have enough finances available, £6200.00 for your first vehicle, somewhere to park and a maintenance agreement. It’s a pain, but not that complicated.