Newbie Here

Hi Guys, I have decided to join after reading on the forum for some time. I am studying fro my Theory/HP/CPC mod 2, that I have booked for the 17th. Using the driving test success, and CPC driving theory4all material. I’ve been a Van Driver for a Major Supermarket for the last 5 years, and been driving for 12 years, and at 30 have decided to pursue a career as a LGV Driver. I have a Wife, Kids, Mortgage and want a well paid job. When I’m in the warehouse unloading my Iveco Daily and a artic pulls in next to me, I Quite often look up and think “I Wish I could do That”. Does anyone know the chances of getting a Job within a Supermarket after passing the test? For my practical I have the following schools shortlisted that I will contact after passing the theory’s.

1. Gordon Springate
  2. Kent Metro
  3. Eddie Stobart
  4. Peter Smythe

I’m after the best quality training I can get, Anyone that have used any of these schools please feel free to comment.

Anyway I thought I’d say “Hi” any advice, Tips appreciated. :smiley:

Have you looked at the link in my signature below?

To find out about certain jobs you would be best to contact potential employers now to find out what their policies are on hiring newbies

You can do all 3 theory tests on the same day - many have done that with great success

Hi ROG, yea I’ve had a good look at your Info, very helpful too. I didn’t think I would contact my employers DC yet until I actually acquire my licence as I thought that would show them I am serious. Not just some Home Shopping driver testing the water on policy’s that wants to try and get free training or summit. I would like to continue my employment with the same company If I could as I’m pretty settled there. But would be willing to change Jobs if the right Secure Job/Wage came up. Yup all tests are booked for the same day , I have about a week to go and am passing mock tests easily, I am pretty confident.