Newbie here

Hi everyone, i would just like to say what a great site this is, has provided a wealth of information and an insight into the every day life of a trucker.

Im 25, live around the south of Bristol, had my car driving license for almost 2 years now, and i passed very easily, my instructor told me i was a natural, and said hes glad that not everyone learns as quick as me as he would be very poor. :laughing:

Which is why i have been thinking about doing my Class C license, and if i like it, progress to the C+E.

I am about to order a book off ebay for the driving theory side of things, any advice/tips on this or should i just memorise the book back to front? Is this the correct one? http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/HGV-PSV-PCV-LGV-DSA-DRIVING-THEORY-TEST-TRAINING-CD-DVD_W0QQitemZ260468903550QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Computing_Software_Software_SR?hash=item3ca5280e7e&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

I take it you have to pass a medical and the theory before you can start any driver training?

What is a good price for the Category C? and the inevitable question, how likely am i going to get a job in it? I dont mind just doing weekend stuff to begin with so that I can build up my experience a bit which will give me better prospects.

I think that is pretty much everything I can think of at the moment, more may be added later!

Cheers guys

Welcome to TRUCKNET! ROG will be along soon after his afternoon nap. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

First of all welcome to the madhouse

with reference the book you need to learn it parrot fasion but a lot of it is common sense and you can work out the answers by elimination.
my advice about the book is buy the relevant one, its not worth buying an older one (you might get away with last years) but any older and the questions may have changed. (by the way, thats a CD/DVD)

you do need to have a medical and pass the theory before you can start training. shop around for these as they price varies drastically from place to place.