Newbie here needing some advice re// brakes

Hi guys … i have a question for the mechanics out there … i am the proud owner of an old 1996 mercedes 814 7.5 tonne removal truck which i am very happy with … it has just recently failed its annual roadworthy test on a leaking rear brake chamber ( air ) the air leak is only happening when the hand brake is in the off position and the leak seems to be around the metal clamp near where the hoses go in …(the metal chamber is badly corroded at this point) the brakes passed on the rolling road 100% ? … has any one had any experience of repairing these units and or can you guys point me in the right direction to get a second hand replacement unit … i live in Northern ireland and there is a lack of commercial breakers in my area … does anyone know are they hard to replace ? any tips on how to get them off and if a repair is possible … on a bit of a budget with this … regards in advance jack …

Whatever you do do not fiddle with the band or dismantle the chamber also be very careful if it’s badly corroded. The chamber contains a spring that can unleash lethal force.

To be honest, even if it turns out the original part is hard to come by I would think it more than likely it would not be too difficult to engineer a solution with something similar.

As above do not tamper with a brake chamber. The spring inside is the same size as a coil spring on a cars suspension. It is compressed and contains a lot of force. The banding round the middle holds the 2 halves of the chamber together which contains this spring. TAKE CARE

cyberjack: