New to the forum and in need of BIG help!

Well the subject heading sounds as if i’m desperate doesn’t it? My names Tom i’m 19 years old and i’m currently studying aviation management at degree level at Leeds Bradford airport. My daily trip from Worksop to LBA is 120 miles and i’ve been doing this for the past 2 years - this is practically when the passion doing LGV driving came to mind. At the moment i’m totally fed up of academic studies i really really do hate it at the minute and i’m considering withdrawing from the course.

I’ve been working at Wilkinson’s distribution centre in Worksop part time for the past 3 years i’m on despatch and tipping loading/unloading trailers so i have basic experience with some HGV equipment. I’ve spoke to a few of the lorry drivers at Wilko’s and have asked what is the industry currently like and it’s 50/50 if i’m honest. Some say its picked up a hell of a lot recently and some others say just don’t even go there. Realistically now if i did drop out of uni what would the chances of a 19 year old lad getting into this industry be like?. I would be willing to work for an agency and also would be willing to travel to the depot.

Stay where you are for now and get your degree, It might be hard now but when you have it it’s there for life. When you are sat in a truck later in life working 80 hours a week for maybe £100 a day you will wish you had.

Stay where you are mate. I was 23 securing my first full time job that paid enough to live on. It was really hard going and just by luck I got the job being in the right place at the right time.

My advice would be to finish your degree first. There will always be time later on to do your lgv tests.