New learner advice

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the site and this is my first post so bear with me if I am asking odd questions or going over old ground for you guys.
I am currently in-between jobs after being made redundant and I have decided (after giving it lots of thought) to change career and train as a professional lorry driver. I have had my medical and am waiting for my licences to be sent back from the DVSA with my provisional entitlement so I can start getting on with it.
The first of potentially many questions I would like to ask is this; is there anything I could or should be doing while I am waiting for my licences to arrive?
I am registered with some local agencies but I obviously can’t get experience doing any driving work until I have them back.

Just as a heads-up, I sent my application forms away on April 7th expecting the licences back within a month. When I rang the DVSA to check on the progress they told me they are working to a 5 week turn-around from the date the medical dept received it. Based on their response I am now expecting the licences back on May 20th. (very frustrating!)

Any tips or shared experience from you guys would be very welcome.

Keith

Yes, you should be preparing for your theory tests. There’s various ways of doing this but the easiest is to team up with a good trainer who will “hold your hand” through the entire process.

All the best with it, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Hi Keith,

My experience so far has been straightforward, passed medical in February, sent forms back, did lots of revising - with an app called deep river development, I recommend it!
Then I passed theory, hazard perception and case studies all in one day in April. And now got cat c training starting 11th may with the test on the Thursday. So looking forward to that :sunglasses: ,

Hope u get your provisional back soon then you can crack on!

Cheers

Dan

Check out the link in my signature below - especially the pre training on road practice