New Job - Co-Op Andover (Norbert)

Hi all
This is my first post, but then I figured it was appropriate as I’m about to start my first full time LGV driving job.

Been doing regular weekend work on agency (mostly Lenham Storage Waitrose runs with the odd couple of single drop artic runs) so not a total novice, but still probably nowhere near as experienced as most of the members here.

Despite my lack of experience I managed to pass my interview & assessment at the Co-op depot in Andover & have been offered a full time job as an LGV C+E driver on the 1pm-4pm shift.

I tried to get as much info as possible at interview, but I am aware that they sometimes don’t give the full story as by all accounts they’re kind of desperate for drivers at the moment (which could explain why they were happy to take me on considering my lack of artic driving experience) & I still have a couple of things which would be nice to have an idea about before I start:

1. how does the rota work? I’ve hear that you work most weekends & that really isn’t that much of a problem for me as I’ve not had many full weekends off in the past few years anyway, but how does it all run? Is it a constant pattern or is it completely random? is it 4 days on 2 days off or 3 days on, 1 day off, 2 days work etc?

2. how far in advance of your shift do you know where you’re going? When I do my weekend runs, I find out where I’m going the night before, scout the drops on Google maps & program the exact point & sense check the route that my Chinese sat nav gives me. However, given that this job is £100 a week more than I’m currently on I’m looking to invest in a Garmin Dezl truck sat nav for £250 which seems to get really good reviews & could hopefully keep me out of trouble if I don’t find out where I’m going until I get my keys.