New driver's story. Thedeckking comes out of hiding!

Hi everyone, I’ve told some of this story in another thread and I know ROG has posted a short version for all to see, but I’d thought I’d share the full experience for the benefit of any other newbies out there. So here I go…

I’m a nationwide garden decking fitter (self employed) and spend alot of time driving up and down the country with my car and trailer. As another vehicle that’s limited to 60 and banned from the fast lane on motorways I started to feel a connection with all the truckers and so when I wanted to learn something new to fill up those empty weeks in my diary driving was my first port of call. I’ve very little experience driving anything bigger than a transit so knew this would be a challange. I heard that Stockport LGV had a good reputation locally so thought I’d try them.

Stockport LGV do a special deal for new starters that includes:
-medical
-provisional licence
-theory test
-DSA theory test book
-hazard perception test (what a waste of time and money that is)
-2 hour assessment
all for £130 which I thought was quite good value. They even fill in the forms for you and you just sign where they tell you to. The theory and hazard is booked for you and once you’ve got your provisional back from the DVLA you’re off on the 2 hour assessment.

So my first time in a truck…
I had my assessment (let’s call the instructor ‘Mr R’) and was shocked at how unprofessional he was. He seemed to be a good driver but made some very inappropriate comments and his coaching skills involved insulting me and generally swearing alot. There were also several phone calls made and received. This didn’t give me a very good impression of the company but I figured I just got him on a bad day. The drive went well, I sort of got the hang of the vehicle (Volvo) and finished with the news I’d need 18 hours tuition including test.