new driver

oreet, just thought i’d post and say hello.

i’m a new class 2 driver, having qualified in october 2011. i found a job pretty quickly (3 days) after getting stuck into the yellow pages and driving round all the firms in my area (i’m a firm believer in making yr own luck).

i’m doing multidrop fridge work in a 6 leg Daf and although there’s a bit of handball and graft, i’m enjoying it. i was in the merch for 15 yrs and then had a stab in the fire protection industry (wrong on so many levels, but that’s another story).

i’m looking to get started with with class 1 training sooner rather than later, but i thought i’d have a crack at the job before spending out and realising that it was not for me.

i learnt with a really good training outfit (north lancs training accrigton) and i’ll go back there for class 1 for sure.

anyways, i’ll stop waffling… for now. all the best.

Well done on the pass and then getting out there and knocking doors.

There will be plenty on here who say its the wrong time to come into driving. But you are proof that there is hope for the newbies.

Good luck.

welcome to the forum, I also passed my ‘C’ in Oct 2011 but I’ve had to tie some ends up in France. In Feb I’ll be knocking on doors as a new starter so it was great to see your positive post on here.

Rich

dar1976:
Well done on the pass and then getting out there and knocking doors.

There will be plenty on here who say its the wrong time to come into driving. But you are proof that there is hope for the newbies.

Good luck.

cheers gents…

a little story for anyone looking for a start… i went into the transport office of a a certain north west based haulier whose MD was good enough to give me ten minutes of his time. he said that although he couldn’t offer me anything he was impressed that i had bothered to go into the office and introduce myself. he said that he didn’t have time to go through loads of speculative cv’s he was getting.