New Driver with assesment with TRG at Tesco Dagenham

Hi all,

Hopefully i’m posting in the correct place. After lots of deliberating i decided on the 25th September this year to do my class 2 and 1 license. By the 25th November id passed everything scoring a 2 fault drive on both my class 1 & 2 driving test so was very happy with that. I completed my Mod 4 cpc when I took my class 2 so i’m all ready to go. I’ve been driving buses for the past 3 1/2 years so wasn’t completely intimidated by the truck and hopefully that will go in my favour now i’m looking for work.

I called TRG last week as they have been recruiting for permanent contracts at Tesco Dagenham. They were immediately interested and set me up an online theory and hazard perception test which I’ve taken and passed and I have my assessment/interview tomorrow morning (06/12/13) at 6A.M at Dagenham Tesco.

I was wondering if anybody had any tips or advice they could send my way as im feeling nervous now? I’ve not driven a truck since I passed my test so im hoping the reverse goes well. Also I don’t know about slidding fifth wheels and adjusting heights or how to use the tacho. They know im a newbie so hopefully they’ll be nice to me.

Any tips and advice would be really appreciated. Thanks everyone

Be very honest with them - they will be looking for a safe drive

There is an online digitacho simulator on this site

:smiley: :smiley:

Let us know how you get on. I’m considering applying soon. I too have a slight concern though in that I passed in a W&D and have never coupled an artic. I am hoping they would understand and not just expect me to do it or fail.