New driver looking for advice :)

Hi everyone I’m new to this site and thought I’d ask for some advice on job searches etc

Okay will I’ve had my class 2 licence for a year now and have only managed to get some 7.5 tonne work and van driving work and everywhere I have tried for class 2 work either say I’ve got no experience or string me along and say they’ll ring me back (but never do)
Is going down the 7.5 tonne route a good way to get experience? I did enjoy some of the 7.5 tonne work but found that the pay was lower than I expected. I live in the Lancaster area if anyone knows of any good places to work in Morecambe/heysham or Lancaster area. I’d like to work at S J Bargh I know that would be a good place to work it’s just a matter of being taken on that’s the problem. I have my licence and ready to start work just need the employer to give me a chance.

Is there any newbies that have had the same problem?

Do I carry on trying or should I go down a different route of employment it has always been my dream to be a truck driver I’ve grown up around trucks and feel like I’ve wasted my money on this licence if I give up on it.

Sorry but now is not the best time for zero experience newbies. You’ll find it easier when things pick up again around March. But keep trying pal, you’ll catch a break in the end…

sent via phone

For me, I’d be grabbing all the work I can get. The more time you have on the road the better it looks when you do hit up employers. Keep trying though, drivers tend to get itchy feet in January. Get yourself on with some agencies. You’ll get the dross but its work, it puts money in your bank and gets your face out there. Do a good job and a firm may offer you a start on the books.

Gingerbiscuit:
Hi everyone I’m new to this site and thought I’d ask for some advice on job searches etc