New driver - Finally got a job

I’ve been registered on here for a few months and thought it was time to say hello - HELLO! Up until now I’ve just been lurking and found the forums very interesting, informative and useful - Well done guys.

Anyway, as the title suggests, I’m a new driver and finally got a job starting Monday.

I did my cat C (and Mod 4) training with John at Flair in November/December. An excellent instructor who got me through my test.

Once I got my licence, I applied for numerous jobs. Most of the time I didn’t get a response, if I spoke to someone on the phone, all I’d ever hear was experience, experience, experience.
I managed to get a couple of interviews, then they ask about experience… Obviously I was honest and said I’d only done the training. They then ask how long I’ve had the licence, and that pretty much terminated the interview.

It did my head in, so in January I decided to do my class 1 thinking it might help me to get class 2 work.
I got the licence back, and started applying for every class 2 job within a 30+ mile radius. Still, all I ever heard was experience, experience, experience.
Even agencies wanted experience and half of the jobs they advertise don’t even seem to exist. I couldn’t possibly have tried any harder - I was registered on all the main jobs sites and applying for every job that came up, contacting agencies and registering with them (I’ve lost count how many I’ve registered with!), contacting employers directly, etc.
I think my most hated word in the English dictionary right now is “experience”!