New Driver Catch 22

OK so I experienced this when I first passed my C 2 years ago.

Can’t get a job because I have no experience, can’t get experience because nobody will give me work (due to insurance requirements)

So I’ve just passed my C+E and find myself with the same problem. I’m currently in full time work and don’t fancy packing it in to go and work for an agency but it’s looking increasingly likely that I’ll have to.

Can anyone offer any advice?

I’m on The Wirral by the way.

Welcome to the madhouse

Dont give up your full time job for agency as they will promise you everything but wont necessarily deliver unless you are financially secure without work then ok

Depends on what work you do atm as you could register with a few agency to work on a weekend ( well 1 day every other IIRC )

I’m one of the lucky ones that has got a job from the first cv I sent out, but I have van driving experience which did seem to help when I went for the interview so maybe you could look into getting a job driving vans so you get experience of delivering and dealing with customers etc.

Hiyyaaa akacheesy, hold onto your full time job as thats the one to keep you financialy secure, & you wont have that sort of security with an agency :exclamation: with the driveing side of things just keep on trying companies & get your cv out there, dont give up. There have been past posts on this forum about similar job finding situations you might pick up some more tips there. Good luck & come & tell us how things are going :smiley:

This situation has been around since the day after the wheel was invented, there is no simple answer, just keep on trying, if you think about it every single one of us was inexperienced when we first started, after all none of us were born with a class 1, some were lucky, some worked their way up through the ranks, some had to work really hard to get there, but they all managed in the end, so don’t lose faith :wink: