New driver advice

Hi I am a newbie on this forum and was wondering if anyone had any advice to a newly qualified class 2 driver looking to find work in the industry due to no experience at the moment ,would love to hear positive advice regarding this topic please :smiley:

Definitely thick skin as you will get a lot of knock backs at first , but dont lose heart keep at em and eventually someone will give you a chance , try all the local hauliers in your area going ready to go , ie smartish and high viz , boots etc in car (just in case) talk to drivers they may know of a chance at the place they work , apply for everything as once you have that chance to prove yourself other things seem to come along after , just be willing and enthusiastic and you never know :wink:

All good points Jennie.

Where is the OP based as it may help for those in the know of any work?

My nephew passed his LGV C recently & managed to get a job within days despite having an unspent DR10 on his licence. So it is possible, you just need to know where to look.

My nephews not enjoying it though. He was forced out of the building trade (dry lining & taping) cos some bloke called ‘Mario’ is prepared to do it for £6.50ph. He’s now driving a road sweeper for . . . . £6.50ph ! (& this is after spending the best part of £1500 on his licence).

Still, I guess being sat on your arse all day for £6.50ph is better than breaking your balls for the same crap money?

The company that set him on goes thru’ drivers like a dodgy kebab goes thru your body. There must be a plentifull supply of eager recruits, ready willing & able to jump into the driving seat if the stories I’ve heard about this company from those who’ve moved on are anything to go by.

He’s only there 'cos his uncle has promised him a nice earner with his old boss as soon as he’s got 2yrs experience under his belt & the DR10 is spent & this is one of the few companies within reasonable travelling distance who’ll bother to interview a newbie.