New C+E driver, no jobs!

Now, I was told before I did C+E training that ‘there’s plenty of jobs’ out there for class 1 drivers, even the newly qualified ones!
Currently the situation is so bad that I’m considering signing on…not out of want but need. Is the situation the same for everyone else, surely it can’t just be me!

Also, because I’m a relatively young driver (even though I’ve got 3 yrs exp. on class 2 stuff) my age seems to work against me. The most common response I get is ‘must be 25 for insurance reasons’ or ‘must have 2 yrs experience’. How am I supposed to get experience on C+E when nowhere will give me a start?

Sorry to go on but I don’t know where to turn at the moment, it’s very frustrating.

Thanks all.

Hi ScannyJacko

Unfortunalty ive been told that work is very slow this time of year, and ive certainly noticed it too. Luckily ive found full time employment, but it wasnt easy thats for sure. A heck of a lot of knock backs etc when going into places with CV etc.

As far as agencies are concered, ive had 2 calls in the last 2-3 weeks and ive driven for them all before, but luckily got into a job in time. But its deffinatly dead out their mate, really is. I thought about signing on too as things got that bad, not a nice feeling tho, i know.

The whole 25 for insurance thing alWays comes up. Im 23 and passed my class 1 before christmas, and as expected, no one will give me a look in, so your not on your own mate. Best thing to do is just get out there with your CV’s, look smart and try and sell yourself.

Where are you based?

All the best.
Ben

Hi Guys
yea things are real slow at the moment but I have been told by all the agents that things will pick up in feb
most of the full time jobs i look at are to many miles away from blackpool so im stuck with the agents at the moment … :frowning: but its veriaty eh :laughing:

Hi there ScannyJacko!