Need your help on this one please.. Urgent

Hi, I’ve been driving class one for around 4 years now and I’ve recently read up on the night drivers rules which I was totally unaware of!

My understanding of the rules is that as a driver of a Hgv at night, your shifts must not exceed 10 hours. If this is the case then I believe I have been breaking the rules for some time unaware.

I need someone to clarify this for me as I’m not sure where I stand legally here.
My shift starts at 16:30pm and finish times can be anywhere between 02:30 - 06:00
I have spoken to my company about this and they don’t seem to care. Also the company that I collect from on my night trunk are of the same opinion.

I need to know if I am allowed to work more than 10 hours or not. Reading the WTD it states that my hours should average 48 a week over a 26 week period but I’m trying also to work out how this can average at 48 if I’m doing around 12 hours a night and 5 nights a week?

I really need someone’s help with this as I’m not sure if I should refuse to do the hours I’m doing or not?

Can anyone here give me some sound advice on this?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Cheers

Geddron

Stands a chance that your workplace has an opt out in place, time at work is not the same as working time, relax youl be fine… :slight_smile:

WTD is just lipservice to the Eu anyway.

When you started your job, can you recall one of the million pieces of paper you signed saying something about an opt out? If so, this is a workplace agreement in which each employee signs to say they opt out of the rule, meaning you can work more than 10 hours. In my experience, this opt out is a given. I’ve never known any company that hasn’t opted out. The rule effectively exists on paper only.

The problem is, if you don’t sign it, you’re unlikely to get the job. My guess is you’ve signed it without realising, but you might need to determine this. I work nights and have for 13 years, and rarely work less than 10 hours.