Navigating Night Time Road Closures

Evening all

I’m a new driver and have just completed my first week of nights. It’s been hard and the gaps between what you learn in training and what you need to know to do the job have been laid bare. But I’ve enjoyed it and I’m working hard to learn and improve.

One shock has been the sheer volume of night-time road closures that I’ve had to contend with. I bought a HGV-specific satnav that doesn’t have a live Traffic feature on it, although I hear a lot of experienced guys say live Traffic is a waste of time anyway.

I now have a link on my phone to the National Highways website that lists planned closures and I’ve started running Waze on my phone, sitting next to my nav on the dash. But I’m not sure that’s the best solution.

So a question for you old hands - what advice can you give to a new driver to help me navigate around the many night-time road closures?

TIA

Before you leave, check google maps traffic which should show you closures, depending on what time you start your night run the roads may not be closed before you get there, so some playing it by ear as you travel is the ticket.
At several points in your journey there will be cut off points when the alternative you could use is no longer valid, so check the traffic situation in good time to go the other way if your route suddenly closes at 8pm.

Forget the super sat nav, google traffic and a proper real road atlas with bridge heights are what you need, depending where you are going there might be 2 or 4 sensible alternative routes you could take, so make a judgement as best you can.

The trick with finding alternatives is second guessing where satnav will send all those who can’t be arsed to do the above, think laterally, chances are the sat nav will suggest the obvious alternative where all the sheep will follow, be one step ahead and find your own way, only a decent sized map is good enough for seeing the big picture.