My First week as a Class 1 driver

So i’ve been a class 2 driver for over 3 years and went for my Class 1 test in November and passed it first time :slight_smile:

I went to a few assessments some made complete sense and others you could tell didnt want new drivers despite the advert showing that they did (Most likely put on them by HR above them)

I managed to pass an assessment with a distribution company for a major supermarket - I was told that I’d be doing mostly trunking work as I was a new pass and not the stores which was perfect for me and would give me plenty of practice on my reversing.

First day i got put on with another agency driver rather than someone who was with the company. thats fine we hit some stores. first store was a straight forward reverse off the street into the yard turning the truck. i didnt manage to do it. i kept turning the wheel the other way.
One of the things i think Training companies should teach is actually reversing in the bay from a 90 degree angle rather than the s reverse they do at the moment. the other driver jumped in and did it for me. Watched him carefully and it was sinking in with the amount of steering to do. 2nd store was similar but had a huge yard to turn and position myself. Both deliveries we had to drag cages and pallets off to a scissor lift.
Overall not a bad day I drove well and reversed onto the loading bays at the depot with a few shunts.

Next day there was no one there so I offered to do some trunking and got sent to Lutterworth with a double decker. Nice drive and again reversing onto the bays was done with a few shunts - each time i felt it was better than the last. One thing i did on the way back is stop at a few service stations and reversed into the bays to get some extra practice. lucky it was a sunday night so there were plenty of spots.

third day was similar to the first apart from the fact i’d managed all the reverses.