My first few days, and maybe a few tips for newbies like me:

Been a while since i’ve been on here, but suffice to say, i’ve started driving wee lorries now. Cause its the newbies section, i thought i’ll contribute back some of my thoughts on a complete newbie to the game.

After phoning some of the agencies, they wanted to have the paper license first… which is kind of understandable, and some also wanted me to have experience of some kind first as well ( again, understandable ). I didn’t get the license in until a week past thursday.

However, I have signed up with an agency on monday who said i’d need to do a short stint on 7.5t vehicles just to build up a bit of experieence, then I can jump up to the larger ones. Thought i would be waiting a while after that sign on, but on wednesday got a call to head up to kinning park and report to a office furniture company that day for 12:30.

“dont wear jeans, wear black trousers” they said.
" err … like suit trousers ? "
" nah, black combats or something."
" ok … "

did i have black combats ? nope ! :confused: :unamused:

a quick diversion via T K Maxx and a quick change in the car had me sorted out. Arrived a the place on time ( bricking it ) , and was sent out in a 7.5t to fill it up with fuel and dump the contents at the scrappies and head on to an office in paisley. Got to the petrol station. Could i open the filler ? could i buggery ! had to drive on and fill it later :blush: alas, the rest of the day went fine and had a good laugh. got asked to go on the thursday too and enjoyed it as well.

Friday was to a different place for 7am in the morning. :open_mouth: Arriving in Finnieston with Glasgow AtoZ in hand i asked " so roughly what will i be doing today "

" you’ll be heading down to ayrshire to drop of deliveries to butchers and the like "