My british trip

I ve just got back to canada after a three week trip to britain to deal with a family emergency. I was a class one HGV driver up to 1977 when I came over here and until 2008 a fuel tanker driver in calgary I m now an OAP but drive a bus occasionally. I ve been over several times before but this time I noticed a great increase in the volume of traffic even in coalville leicestershire where I m from its hard to cross the road sometimes and in ashby de la zouch where I went to school the congestion is worse. I think you guys have a very difficult job particularly on the motorways . I stopped for breakfast at junction 9 m1 northbound and was pleased to see the watling street cafe still in operation giving quite reasonable prices unfortunately the road sign doesnt say A5 anymore creating confusion for me. Another question is where have all the tippers gone? even the quarry my late father worked at ARC whitwick is closed . Coalville now has amazon and stobarts . I found driving very stressfully and certainly no pleasure I hate those big ugly roundabouts but I found the people very pleasant and helpful.Keep up the good work Wayne R

The reason J9 no longer has the A5 on the signs is because that section of the A5 has been “detrunked” (and there is now a 7.5T weight restriction on what used to be the A5 through Dunstable). HGV through traffic is expected to use the M1 and the new J11A, which links back to the A5 just North of Dunstable.

Of course, there are still lots of HGVs using the old road as their drivers probably haven’t noticed the signs. Rumour has it that enforcement action (i.e. prosecution) is soon to start, which might serve to focus their attention…