MPS builders merchants

Does anyone know what they are like to work for only I’ve just had a phone call from my agency saying that I’m in there from tommorrow on a temp to perm deal as they are after a class 2 hiab driver with knowledge of building materials. and that I only live 5 mins away from there yard,I was first choice for the vacancy after proving myself on the network rail contract.

I’ve seen their Mercedes trucks round the midlands and they look like decent kit but what are they like to work for?

Don’t actually know what that firm’s like, but if I were you I’d make sure the pay rate’s the same on the books as on agency.

My experience is that agency guys on BM work get a far better rate than the regulars on that sort of work; Jewsons and Travis Perkins are notoriously bad payers.

I work for a company owned by Travis Perkins…if you take it hourly the money isn’t too bad for Class 2 round here.

I’ve always worked for Builders Merchants, even before I was an HGV driver and you do get the impression that everybody is on different money and the bottom line is that they will pay you as little as they think they can get away with.

I work for local BM in sheffield. local companies tend to be better than national ie Jewson, Travis Perkins etc. I did work for them when I was with agency, If going temp to perm negotiate pay deal with company.
Hope you enjoy it

I went into Travis Perkins once and the yardman said “Before I tip you, I want to show you my payslip”. So he did.

Then he said “We’ve all just had a memo from Northampton instructing us not to show our payslips to any visiting drivers, so I’m showing it to everybody. Before I got the memo it would never in a million years have occurred to me to show it to anyone”.

:smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

cheers chaps