moving to canada

Hi i’m new to these message boards…i would like to hear from brit truckers that have taken the leap and now live and work in canada.
i have wanted to do this for some years now, but have not researched it to much.
Still tryin to convince the wife.
i currently work for fergusons transport in the north east of england…yes a “geordie”
if anyone can tell me how there experience has went…the up’s and the down’s
i’d love to hear from you.
thanks
Steve McSwain

Look up www.truckscan.ca and go into the “Canadian ambitions” forum and read ALL the posts.You really need to do alot of research before you go over to Canada as alot of people have gone over and found its not for them :frowning: . A big problem is that over the road (OTR) drivers can often be away from their families for weeks at a time because N.America is so vast.Also the majority of the pay is mileage related (no hourly rate!!) so if your stuck at some warehouse/docks with no load for a couple of days it means no pay,no such thing as holiday pay either!!! :cry:

hi there macswain

you really do need to all really want to do this it wouldnt be fair on your wife if she was alone in a different country and unhappy

research it well as big truck says

you DO get holiday pay and my husband is not paid by the mile

maybe a holiday first would be good it might give your wife a better idea

we love it here its the best thing we ever did but it isnt for everyone so make sure it is what you all want

if you need to know anything just ask! :slight_smile:

It’s like a lot of jobs to be honest. Shop around and see what people offer. It may be an idea to fly over for a couple weeks, and rent a car (check for milage costs, you’ll be doing a lot of it) and run round a few provinces and check it all out. You’ll get an idea of the country, the roads, and the trucks you see around the place. Ask a lot of companies what they offer. And don’t forget to ask the Cannucks about the [zb] ones…