Moving digi-tach vehicles around yard before drivers arrive

Hello all, I’m a small operator in Somerset running a small fleet of tipper vehicles, three analogue and two digi-tach equipped.

What is the position with me (or anyone else) shunting the digi-tach vehicles out of the warehouse to either get an item of plant out/get an analogue wagon out without the digi-tach truck having a card in? Obviously “Driving without card” flashes up and is recorded.

Any guidance on this area would be much appreciated.Looking forward to getting involved in this great forum :smiley:

Shouldn’t be any issues . It’s not like huge missing miles a week is it.

Vosa and anyone who downloads from the tacho unit will see that’s its low mileage missing and shunting speed .

Our wagons are shunted around all night long, usually by a Non HGV licence holder with no Digi card.

If I get asked to come in early to play a bit of ‘Musical Lorries’ I just record my time as Other Work on my Digi Card, when I finally get to leave the yard.

No doubt someone will tell me that I’m supposed to record ‘Every Centimetre’ that I drive, but that’s not practical as it would take more time to put the card in & out than it would just shunting them ! Lol !

If on a modern digi then it would need more than 30 seconds worth of driving to record such so in most cases its pointless to keep switching the card from truck to truck

Its also unreasonable to expect a driver to keep using their card in X amount of vehicles to move them around in a yard for a few seconds each time

Dr Dave:
Hello all, I’m a small operator in Somerset running a small fleet of tipper vehicles, three analogue and two digi-tach equipped.

What is the position with me (or anyone else) shunting the digi-tach vehicles out of the warehouse to either get an item of plant out/get an analogue wagon out without the digi-tach truck having a card in? Obviously “Driving without card” flashes up and is recorded.