Moving 5th Wheel?

As an agency driver I go to plenty of different companies, with plenty of different Units and trailers,
sometimes the gap between the cab and the trailer is huge and I feel like I should be moving the 5th Wheel.

But I am unsure of how close I should get it, worried about damaging the cab or trailer legs hitting the lights/mudguards on corners, so I just leave it as it is. Like yesterday I had a single-axle city trailer and the gap between cab and trailer was about 1.5 meters. :open_mouth:

Is this something I should be doing or should I not bother ? and if I should do it, how should I get the correct gap. :slight_smile: Thankyou

i wouldnt bother mate id just leave it exactly as you find it the only time ive ever had a problem was garriby hill in the wet and due to distance between cab and trailer couldnt get traction but as i say in my opinion leave well alone and chances are even if you tried to move it you couldnt pull the handle out due to lack of use

Last week did a drop in Plymouth with 6x2 which was tight reverse and drop off the road, the fifth wheel was right back os the nose of the trailer dipped enough to catch the mudguards on the second axle. Lifting the suspension doesnt change the level of the mudguards.
Back in the yard had a look identical unit that had wheel about 8 ins further forward and not a mark on the mud guards, so got bar and sledge hammer and gently :confused: slid the well greased plate forward to the same position. I’m told that the clay company had problems with it being forward and grounding on the chassis on steep ramps.
So I now look if there’s combination of steep drop or rise combined with hard turn.
Normal running I doubt it matters but I’m sure there are some experts on axle weight distribution on the tractor :sunglasses: