Mobile phones. Life better with or without them?

This is one for all you Mid east/European boys during the 70s 80s. Ive been driving for a living for 10 years now, all the time I have had a mobile, on numerous occasions, I have been enroute to a collection/delivery and had the call “forget that its been cancelled” or “can you divert to?”

How did you go on? How did you keep in touch with your planners? Surely you never got to Iraq or Turkey only to be told that the load had been cancelled, or was planning just better in those days?

These days we take them for granted, but are they really for the better? Or a modern menace and just another spy in the cab? Personally I cant remember the amount of times Ive missed “popmaster” because of a phone call, important or not :imp:

Any amusing tales about lack of communication over the years? Would you not answer or use your personal phone for a work related matter?

i couldn’t to vote for the following reasons

1. Mobile phones are essential in the transport industry
  2. Mobile phones are good because if you need help its only a call away
  3. Mobile phones are bad because sometimes its good to be just you and mile after mile of open peaceful road.

Mr B:
3. Mobile phones are bad because sometimes its good to be just you and mile after mile of open peaceful road.

Just turn it off…

How many drivers do not get issued a mobile phone and end up making calls on their own phone witout any payments for using it ?

Most get company Cell phones but i bet they are still some that do not ?

As an Agency driver I don’t get one, therefore they can’t contact me once I’m out the gates.

The only time I set my phone to reject calls is when I am driving and don’t want to be bothered/nowhere safe to pull over for ages.

I’ve changed the answer phone message to “Hi I’m currently driving at the moment, please leave a message and I’ll get back to you in my break”

If they dont leave me a message, I dont get back to them - simple!

Alex