Mixing Domestic and EC rules?

This is a simple question for those who know the answer, I know I have read the answer somewhere a long time ago but do you think I can find again!

Anyway, I am a bus driver working 41 hours a week under domestic rules.
I also have an LGV class 2 license and was thinking about doing some agency LGV work (under EC rules) on one of my 2 rest days per week.

Can I do it? does the 41 hours PCV count towards my driving hours etc?
What are the complications, limits etc?

Sorry about the stupid question and possible wrong terms but I haven’t really needed to worry about his until now.
I am quite a bit confused about this as i would assume that as soon as you start doing some driving under EC rules the domestic hours would effect it but of course the break lengths are different etc.

What I mean is, if I worked let’s say tuesday for an agency under EC rules wouldn’t I be on EC rules for the rest of the week? would this then mean that I couldn’t do my bus driving as the running cards can have upto 5 hours odd driving without a break.

Someone in the know please help.

Just found this in the DSA ‘Driving Goods Vehicles’

It is possible that you may drive under EC rules and domestic rules during a week or even one day.
You can choose to drive under EC rules for the whole of the time.
If you use a combination of both sets of rules you must ensure that EC limits are not exceeded when driving vehicles on EC work.

You can’t use the time driving under EC rules as off-duty time under the domestic rules; driving under EC rules counts towards the driving and duty limits under the domestic rules. Similarly, you can’t claim driving and other work under domestic rules as rest time for the EC rules.
Remember any EC driving in a week means that you must take daily and weekly rest periods.

So that has made things slightly clearer, but still as clear as mud.