Mileage allowance

Hi!!
I’m an agency driver,normal paye, not nova or ltd company, but i believe i can claim mileage allowance as i don’t work from the same site everyday!!what do i need to do to claim for the fuel allowance??is it the right time of the year to do it??any help is very welcome as this is my first year on agency!!Thanks

i was lead to believe that this was the case,so i contacted hmrc…nothing doing

Binas:
Hi!!
I’m an agency driver,normal paye, not nova or ltd company, but i believe i can claim mileage allowance as i don’t work from the same site everyday!!what do i need to do to claim for the fuel allowance??is it the right time of the year to do it??any help is very welcome as this is my first year on agency!!Thanks

I think this is the correct form, if it’s this year you want to claim for I imagine you would have to wait until after the 5th April.

Tax relief for expenses of employment.

you also need to have to have buisness insurance to use your car if you travel to more than 1 place of work

strongbowpeter:
you also need to have to have buisness insurance to use your car if you travel to more than 1 place of work

Why would you need business insurance when all you’re doing to travelling to and from your place of work :confused:

If that was true probably about 75% of agency drivers would need business insurance for their cars.

You cannot claim a mileage allowance for travelling to and from work, you could live in Land’s End and choose to work in John O’Groats, that’s your choice, but you could claim for mileage that you do once you have reported to your place of employment, as long as it is on company business, so if you report to the agency and then get sent out, you could technically claim for that, but it wouldn’t be long before that loophole was closed :wink:

I think you’ll find that you can claim mileage allowance if you’re travelling to a temporary place of work.

In fact it says so on the form :wink: