Mercedes Arocs

Has anyone driven one, heard opinions etc?

Hadn’t heard of them but the Mercs electrics are crap, wiring to the starter on the '62 Actroses has started corroding through :imp: 3 units out of 1 hub in the last month that I know of.

I did suggest they check the whole lot so they don’t get outfits/driver stranded out on the road and all the costs of getting a mechanic out delayed freight &etc., went down like a lead balloon, after all I’m just a thick driver :unamused: .

Company near us had an ex demo one on muckshift , after about a year they had 4 new ones .
I guess they were happy with them ,
I have seen a company down Luton way I think runs them .

My old firm has a couple there happy with them but with merc there dealer network is very patchy some dealers are good others are awful and with any new truck you need a good dealer.
Good on fuel aparently

I work for mercedes benz commercials and they are very good trucks to drive. Mercedes benz do say that the driver should go on one of there course to learn how to drive them as in the past or even now we still get drivers moaning there crap till we show them

devonlad2009:
I work for mercedes benz commercials and they are very good trucks to drive. Mercedes benz do say that the driver should go on one of there course to learn how to drive them as in the past or even now we still get drivers moaning there crap till we show them

I was just about to say how bad they are to drive, I really don’t get on with the gear box, drive it manually most the time. its only a hire truck at my place so to be honest im not in it that often.
I would say I need a course in that case :wink:

They are good to drive once you get the hang of getting the best out of them but the electrics are still made of plasticine and too many glitches in the management systems.