Medical History Requested

Hi all I’ve been working for my current employer for just over two years, yesterday I was given a medical history form to complete, was told that its because I’ve been there two years, seems rather odd to me, as I’ve never had to do this before. What would happen if i refuse?

Depends what their terms says.

For me it depends in the quality of the form. If it’s a standard “do you/have you suffered from etc” with yes/no I’ve no problem. Anything deeper I’d suggest their concern would warrant them sending for me for a medical at their own cost.

You can point towards things like the Glasgow bin wagon driver for stuff like this but while I’m normally against the whole “if you’ve nothing to hide” reasoning for once I can actually say genuinely what is the problem if there’s no problem? Assuming as above its a yes/no thing

We get one every year, have you ever/do you suffer from. Tick box yes or no, eyesight changed etc. Basically a cover their ■■■■ exercise.

Used to have an outside occupational health bod in every year when I worked at the mill, lung function tests and stuff to make sure the dust wasnt doing nasty things to us.

I’ve asked the drivers that have been here more than two years this morning and none have had to do one, most have said do you reckon the boss has lost the first one, on the other hand it could be they’re trying to find something to get rid of me, but as they’re struggling to get or keep drivers I doubt that. Also there is nothing in the contract that says I must fill one out, it just says I have to inform them of any health matters that would affect my job!!

Stephenjp:
I’ve asked the drivers that have been here more than two years this morning and none have had to do one

Maybe they apply an age threshold are all the drivers including you similar age ?.

Do you like…

The job? Are you earning sufficient and can you do most of the runs with your eyes closed?

If yes to all or some of those, just fill the form in.