Mechanics have bad backs... do truckers have bad elbows?

Ey up

I’m a new driver and i was wondering if there are any conditions that may arise as being a lorry driver?

I did a 2 hour refresher on a class 1 just doing reverses for 2 hours straight and my left elbow was hurting like a mofo but only for a few hours later.

Never done shunting so i dont know how much steering is involved but its obviously more than road drivers so im wondering if bad elbows develop over time or if its just me?

Have any of you developed any conditions?

cheers.

One condition I have noticed that seems to have developed over the years with lorry drivers is “bad attitude”.
You just need to read some of the threads on here to realise that! Always everyone else’s fault and never ever wrong. :laughing:

When you’ve been doing any job long enough you’ll get problems, if you’re starting out now they’ll be different problems to what those of around retirement age now have.

Where us old uns have suffered physically from the days of power unassisted steering and clutches, gearlevers of varying effort, serious hands on loading unloading load securing and covering routines (you want to try handballing 21 tons on then roping and sheeting in freezing rain), helped no end by sleeping across makeshift planks in a cramped unheated uncooled tiny cab.

Your problems in old age will more than likely be from another direction entirely, i’ll leave others to suggest what those might be but my suggestion is those who rule over you or are their most useful idiots of the day will be the biggest danger to you, my suggestion as to who that will be at any point will be to look at whom you may not criticise, the pointers are all there now.