Meal expenses. Employee's right or company's discretion?

Hey guys, I’m new to this whole trucking thing. I’ve had my licence for a few years but only recently properly started using it in the past 9 or so months, so got a proper noobie question for all you pro’s out there.

I’m having trouble with my work when it come to having my meals out on road. There are time’s when I have to work late past dinner time and I need to buy my meal out on road because I don’t get advanced warning about any overtime usually, and I don’t have the means to cook a meal in my rig. So lack of better a option I have to buy a meal from service stations. When I ask my bosses to be paid back for the dinner they say ‘that’s not an expense and they don’t pay for my dinner unless I do an overnighter’. When this happens my hours are 07:00 till after 20:00. I found some stuff on the HMRC where it sayes in this case I’m should get £15 (EIM05231). Also on the HMRC website there are guides for a Mid day meal allowance, £2 tax free a day which I aslo don’t get (EIM66140).

My question is, is there any rights as a driver to get reimbursed for my dinners from a legal stand point ? I know my bosses can bully me at times but to withhold money I’m due seem’s hard to believe.

Thanks for you time and due consern guys. :wink:

When this happens my hours are 07:00 till after 20:00.

I wouldn’t worry about food until I’d got the EU drivers regs sorted. What you have stated above is clearly illegal - so meals just don’t come into it.

Ok. That’s obviously not good. What is wrong with the 07:00 till after 20:00 ? I’m taking my breaks and its usually a little past 20:00 like 20:10 usually.

Surely its only illegal if all that time is behind the wheel. WTD allows for 15hr days, so if the op is putting 2hrs 15 min in as other work he’s within his hours.

No thats not all behind the wheel as you can only drive a maximin of 10 hours a day. The rest of the time is unloading cargo and collections.