Matthew Clark dray job

Evening all,

I have been offered a job working for Matthew Clark drink wholesalers, the position is a class 2 driver. Can any one give me any advise/experience on a job like this? I’m currently a delivery driver for tesco 3.5t so will be a massive step up. Bit concerned about the physical nature of the job.

Cheers

worked in pubs for years so i took many deliveries. never done it as a driver though. theres not much lifting carrying really. the full kegs are pushed off the wagon onto a mat then rolled to where they need to be. eg beer garden cellar door/trap. if its a trap it gets pushed through onto another mat then handled by the pub staff. all youll need to lift really is crates onto a sack wagon or pull it off with a pumptruck on a pallet if theres a lot. empty kegs are lifted back onto the wagon. not sure on their exact weight but i used to lift one with each hand onto the bed.

youll probably go into some tight pub car parks or down back alleys to get to delivery point. nothing drastic though. dunno how it works at the depots though im afraid. when ive done pallet deliveries to breweries theres been Flts about so there shouldnt be too much lifting at that end. there will probably be an element of cash handling to it as well.

hope this helps

forgot to say. we dealt with clarks in kirkham quite a bit. dunno if its the same place youve seen advertised but the drivers and mates were a good bunch and the warehouse staff always seemed cheerful when ive delivered pallets to them. the road theyre on there is a bugger though